UGA Librarian Named to Federal Advisory Board

Submitted by Camie on

Valerie Glenn, the head of the Map and Government Information Library at the University of Georgia, has been named to an advisory board for the U.S. Government Publishing Office.

Valerie Glenn poses in front of globes and tables in the Map and Government Information Library at UGA
Valerie Glenn in the Map and Government Information Library

Glenn, who is the regional federal depository librarian for Georgia, will serve a three-year term on the Depository Library Council, advising on policy matters related to the Federal Depository Library Program, including a focus on increasing access to government information in electronic formats, according to a GPO press release.

“As a leader in government information, Valerie will serve the U.S. GPO well in providing input on how best to serve the public in an era of digital knowledge,” said Jason Battles, deputy university librarian at UGA. “In turn, her work will benefit patrons back here in Georgia and throughout the United States.”

The Map and Government Information Library, known as MAGIL, is located in the Main Library on North Campus. It has been designated as a Center of Excellence for Federal depository maps by the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries.

Last year, Glenn led an effort to partner with the George A. Smathers Libraries at the University of Florida as a shared regional depository library, a move that modernizes efforts to provide access to government reports by allowing libraries to tailor their resources to meet their patrons needs while collaborating to maintain access to comprehensive collections. She also serves as a member of the HathiTrust Federal Documents Advisory Committee.

“GPO welcomes these new members of the DLC who have dedicated their careers to helping GPO provide the public with free access to government information,” said Hugh Halpern director of GPO. “I look forward to hearing these new members’ ideas about the future of the FDLP and value their overall contributions to the Council.”