Georgia Writers Hall of Fame

Georgia Writers Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony: Nov 7

Submitted by amywatts on Wed, 10/26/2016

Five new members, including the first African-American to win a Pulitzer Prize, will be inducted into the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame Nov. 7 at the University of Georgia Libraries.

The ceremony will be at 10 a.m. at the Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries. This year’s honorees include humorist Roy Blount Jr., novelist Brainard Cheney, social activist Katharine Du Pre Lumpkin, short-story writer James Alan McPherson and journalist Bill Shipp.

“The Georgia Writers Hall of Fame events are always a highlight of the year for the UGA Libraries,” said P. Toby Graham, university librarian and associate provost. “We consider it a privilege to recognize the contributions of Georgia writers to the world of literature and beyond.”

Football Friday Tour

Guided tours of our special fall Rotunda exhibit take place each Friday before home football games. This year’s exhibit is on the Redcoat Marching Band. Visitors will also have an opportunity to view gallery exhibits, including the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame, a look at the 1996 Olympics, 50 years of Foxfire and selections from the Georgia Music Hall of Fame.